+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    5
    Posts
    30

    Default Windows 7 Ultimate question

    Hey. Just wondering why windows 7 ultimate is worth so much more than home premium. The only differences I know is that ultimate supports up to 192 gb ram and has neat little microsoft applications and requires higher specs to run but for a gaming pc would ultimate be better? If so, why?
    Also, what other general advantages are there to ultimate?
    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Ebuyer Addict
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Rep Power
    54
    Reputation
    2206
    Posts
    1,584

    Default

    No for gaming Ultimate wont be any better than any other version. The only advantage Ultimate and Professional win7 gives you that may help with older games is the Windows XP compatibility mode.
    Other advantages are multi languages and bitlocker. See...
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...oducts/compare
    and
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...oducts/compare

    Premium is enough for most home users.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Rep Power
    65
    Reputation
    2606
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Megas View Post
    The only differences I know is that ultimate supports up to 192 gb ram
    Any version can support this amount of memory. This is a feature of being 64 bit, and not the actual operating system version.

  4. #4
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Rep Power
    9
    Reputation
    5
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy F View Post
    Any version can support this amount of memory. This is a feature of being 64 bit, and not the actual operating system version.
    So then this is wrong?

    https://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/...windows-7/4254

    Ok thank you, premium it is then.

  5. #5
    Ebuyer Loyalist

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scunthorpe
    Age
    28
    Rep Power
    667
    Reputation
    32489
    Posts
    5,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy F View Post
    Any version can support this amount of memory. This is a feature of being 64 bit, and not the actual operating system version.
    No Megas is correct:

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...mits_windows_7
    Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k 3.3Ghz w/ Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVORAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600mhz Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V LX Graphics: Sapphire HD4850 512MB Hard Drives: Crucial M4 128GB SSD & Western Digital HDD 3.5 TB total PSU/Case: Coolermaster Elite 330 w/ 460W PSU Display: LG W2361V 23" 1080p

  6. #6
    Senior Ebuyer Addict

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    london
    Rep Power
    454
    Reputation
    21662
    Posts
    4,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer View Post
    how is that even possible?
    must be intentionally limited
    Mavericks running on- Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, 2x 4gb Corsair 1600mhz Ram, 1tb F3, 500gb F1, Asus 6850

  7. #7
    Ebuyer Loyalist

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scunthorpe
    Age
    28
    Rep Power
    667
    Reputation
    32489
    Posts
    5,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samisnake View Post
    how is that even possible?
    must be intentionally limited
    Yep. Remember the 4GB limit on 32-bit systems is a purposeful Windows limit, not a hardware limit.
    Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k 3.3Ghz w/ Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVORAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600mhz Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V LX Graphics: Sapphire HD4850 512MB Hard Drives: Crucial M4 128GB SSD & Western Digital HDD 3.5 TB total PSU/Case: Coolermaster Elite 330 w/ 460W PSU Display: LG W2361V 23" 1080p

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Rep Power
    65
    Reputation
    2606
    Posts
    462

    Default

    Oh sorry thats my mistake, i honestly thought all versions could support 192GB.

  9. #9
    Ebuyer Addict

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    St Andrews, Scotland
    Rep Power
    162
    Reputation
    7009
    Posts
    1,470

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer View Post
    Yep. Remember the 4GB limit on 32-bit systems is a purposeful Windows limit, not a hardware limit.
    I thought it was the whole "Addressable RAM" limit being due to 2^32 = 4096..... (i.e. 4GB)?

    Ultimate does have some other advantages, but for the average user, a gamer... not necessary. (advantages with Domains, bitlocker, etc)
    "I dont want to waste my days prolonging them." Ian Fleming

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  10. #10
    Senior Ebuyer Addict

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    london
    Rep Power
    454
    Reputation
    21662
    Posts
    4,306

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer View Post
    Yep. Remember the 4GB limit on 32-bit systems is a purposeful Windows limit, not a hardware limit.
    i meant more about the 64bit side.
    home premium up to 16gb, whereas pro and up can use up to 192gb. home basic is limited to 8.
    if they are all 64bit, why the differences in limits?
    Mavericks running on- Asus P8P67 Deluxe, i5 2500K, 2x 4gb Corsair 1600mhz Ram, 1tb F3, 500gb F1, Asus 6850

  11. #11
    Ebuyer Loyalist

    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Scunthorpe
    Age
    28
    Rep Power
    667
    Reputation
    32489
    Posts
    5,798

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by samisnake View Post
    i meant more about the 64bit side.
    home premium up to 16gb, whereas pro and up can use up to 192gb. home basic is limited to 8.
    if they are all 64bit, why the differences in limits?
    Micro$oft.
    Processor: Intel Core i5 2500k 3.3Ghz w/ Coolermaster Hyper 212 EVORAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 1600mhz Motherboard: Asus P8Z68-V LX Graphics: Sapphire HD4850 512MB Hard Drives: Crucial M4 128GB SSD & Western Digital HDD 3.5 TB total PSU/Case: Coolermaster Elite 330 w/ 460W PSU Display: LG W2361V 23" 1080p

  12. #12
    Ebuyer Legend

    Join Date
    May 2007
    Rep Power
    883
    Reputation
    42812
    Posts
    10,676

    Default

    Strictly speaking, 32bit CPUs can only address 4GB RAM, however, most CPUs since the mid 90s have had PAE which, at a minimum, increases the address size from 32bits to 36bit, and thus the usable memory from 4GB to 64GB.

    Microsoft were dicks about this. Even though their desktop OSes can be booted with PAE, they still limit the usable RAM to 4GB.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8
Copyright © 2015 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright Ebuyer UK LTD 2013
All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02 AM.
vBulletin 4.0 skin by CompleteVB