+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: avg8 dump files

  1. #1
    The "Xbox" Dude

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    West Sussex
    Age
    21
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    3583
    Posts
    880

    Default avg8 dump files

    I've been losing a lot of HDD space lately so ive just been looking through to figure out what was causing it, the avg8 dump folder is using 76GB of my hard drive! any ideas why or if im ok to delete them?

    thanks in advance for any help (and sorry if its in the wrong section)

  2. #2
    The "Internet" Dude

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Sussex
    Rep Power
    211
    Reputation
    9709
    Posts
    5,824

    Default

    AVG will on some versions create dump files then struggle to delete them, it should be perfectly safe to delete them, ive never had any issues doing so to date. My experience? a computer network of 100 workstations running AVG Pro
    Asus P6T6 WSR, Intel i7 965, 6gb OCZ, GTX 285 OCX, Kingston 64gb SSD, Corsair HX1000.

  3. #3
    The "Xbox" Dude

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    West Sussex
    Age
    21
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    3583
    Posts
    880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vapourmike View Post
    AVG will on some versions create dump files then struggle to delete them, it should be perfectly safe to delete them, ive never had any issues doing so to date. My experience? a computer network of 100 workstations running AVG Pro
    All gone thanks

    oh and +rep

  4. #4
    CrazyJordan
    Guest

    Default

    have u got avg 8.5? you should try updating it if not.

  5. #5
    The "Xbox" Dude

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    West Sussex
    Age
    21
    Rep Power
    84
    Reputation
    3583
    Posts
    880

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crazyjordan View Post
    have u got avg 8.5? you should try updating it if not.
    yes i do, the file is labelled as avg8 in ProgramData for some reason though

  6. #6
    The *NIX Bod

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    UK
    Age
    46
    Rep Power
    238
    Reputation
    11078
    Posts
    2,391

    Default

    That's fine.
    Make sure that AVG is set to update, an antivirus program that doesn't update is as much use as a chocolate biscuit at a bonfire.
    Main PC - C2Q Q6600 / Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3 / 2GB Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 / Zalman CNPS9700 / Antec 900 / Corsair HX 620W. Network - DD-WRT ~ 2node WDS-WPA2/AES ~ Buffalo WHR-G54S's. 3node WPA2/AES ~ WRT54GS v6 (inc. WEP BSSID), WRT54G v2, WRT54G2 v1

  7. #7
    The "Internet" Dude

    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    East Sussex
    Rep Power
    211
    Reputation
    9709
    Posts
    5,824

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by creaky View Post
    That's fine.
    Make sure that AVG is set to update, an antivirus program that doesn't update is as much use as a chocolate biscuit at a bonfire.
    But I like choccy biscuits at bonfires
    Asus P6T6 WSR, Intel i7 965, 6gb OCZ, GTX 285 OCX, Kingston 64gb SSD, Corsair HX1000.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright Ebuyer UK LTD 2013
All times are GMT. The time now is 11:27 PM.
vBulletin 4.0 skin by CompleteVB