+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Rep Power
    16
    Reputation
    5
    Posts
    97

    Default USB Over Current Status Detected, Computer will shut down in 15 seconds

    Hey people, i've run to my friends house quickly so i can use the internet, i really need help, i finished building my computer today but when ive come to turn it on, a message is diplayed on the screen saying "USB Over Current Status Detected, Computer will shut down in 15 seconds" and i have no idea how to fix this, really need help. Cheers in advance
    Antec p182 - Q9550 - ASUS P5Q PRO - Sapphire 4850x2 - Samsung 24" 1920 x 1200 - OCZ Stealth XStream 700W PSU - OCZ 4GB 1066Mhz 5-5-5-12 - 1TB Samsung F1

  2. #2
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Suffolk
    Rep Power
    113
    Reputation
    4459
    Posts
    5,890

    Default

    Unplug all your USB devices and try again.

    BTW - it would help you and us if you used a more descriptive thread title.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Rep Power
    16
    Reputation
    5
    Posts
    97

    Default USB Over Current Status Detected, Computer will shut down in 15 seconds

    The only USB device plugged in was the keyboard and mouse so i tried unplugging them and starting again but it gave me the same error =(
    Antec p182 - Q9550 - ASUS P5Q PRO - Sapphire 4850x2 - Samsung 24" 1920 x 1200 - OCZ Stealth XStream 700W PSU - OCZ 4GB 1066Mhz 5-5-5-12 - 1TB Samsung F1

  4. #4
    Moderator

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Suffolk
    Rep Power
    113
    Reputation
    4459
    Posts
    5,890

    Default

    Did you install the motherboard correctly using the risers?

    Try running the board outside the case (search for a recent thread by Benghis for more info). Run it with no hard drives or optical drives connected, just the board, CPU (and HSF obviously), graphics card and RAM.

    Also try resetting the BIOS (RTFM on that one).

    If none of those work, I would RMA it (unless anyone else can think of anything I've missed?).

    Edit: changed title for you!

  5. #5
    Senior Ebuyer Addict

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London
    Rep Power
    206
    Reputation
    9363
    Posts
    4,810

    Default

    you have to change the bios on your mobo
    change it back or foward.
    ive read about this online particularyly on asus boards
    i assume u know how to flash ure BIOS

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Rep Power
    16
    Reputation
    5
    Posts
    97

    Default

    Cheers, i'll try this now, if anybody else has any ideas please feel free to help lol
    Antec p182 - Q9550 - ASUS P5Q PRO - Sapphire 4850x2 - Samsung 24" 1920 x 1200 - OCZ Stealth XStream 700W PSU - OCZ 4GB 1066Mhz 5-5-5-12 - 1TB Samsung F1

  7. #7
    Senior Ebuyer Addict

    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    London
    Rep Power
    206
    Reputation
    9363
    Posts
    4,810

    Default

    if that dont work then disconnect anything on the usb headers on the mobon ot the actual usb 2.0 ports

    may be the psu but i doubt it coz ure psu is one of the best
    Last edited by Tom; 17th February 2009 at 07:12 PM. Reason: merged posts - please use the edit button in future and less txt spk!

  8. #8
    The "E74" Dude

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    20
    Rep Power
    316
    Reputation
    14833
    Posts
    7,367

    Default

    check there's nothing shorting the USB ports (is removing the backplate worth a try?)
    mine got this when I moved my parts into a new case, after a few restarts it went.
    If "all else fails", completely disassemble and reassemble. worked for my broken laptop
    Also check nothing is shorting components (is the heatsink touching anything?)
    Any way to test the PSU? There again there's a risk of damaging test components if you're trying it in another PC.
    Steam: spleenharvester | Playing: Far Cry 2, Borderlands

  9. #9
    Ebuyer Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Rep Power
    21
    Reputation
    277
    Posts
    525

    Default

    Is this on the Asus board?

    If so, I had someone come to me with the exact same problem, turned out to be some stray as5 shorting on the contact side of the cpu and it fried the board so it sounds like it's rma time I'm afraid.
    Water cooled Q6600 G0 @
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
    , Corsair Dominator 8500C5D's @ 1088 5-5-5-12, Sapphire HD4870 1Gb o.c., Gigabyte EP35 DS4 @ 1740fsb, 2 x OCZ 32Gb SSD in raid 0 for dual boot o.s., HD103UJ 1tb for storage, Corsair 650 TX psu, HP w2207h, Creative X-Fi Titanium and Logitech z680's, Wave keyboard and MX Revolution

  10. #10
    The "E74" Dude

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Age
    20
    Rep Power
    316
    Reputation
    14833
    Posts
    7,367

    Default

    Mine too was an Asus; it survived it.
    Steam: spleenharvester | Playing: Far Cry 2, Borderlands

  11. #11
    The "AMD" Dude

    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Redcar
    Age
    23
    Rep Power
    348
    Reputation
    16345
    Posts
    10,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by aaron333 View Post
    if that dont work then disconnect anything on the usb headers on the mobon ot the actual usb 2.0 ports

    may be the psu but i doubt it coz ure psu is one of the best
    OCZ's are good... But not one of the best :rolleyes:
    2500k @ 5GHZ/Asus Maximus IV Extreme/128GB Crucial M4 SSD/Samsung 2TB F4/Seagate 250GB /Powercolor PCS+ 7950 1125/1500/Xigamatek Elysium/Dell P2310H/Corsair SP 2500/Sennhesier PC330's/Asus Xonar Essence STX/XFX 850W/8GB Corsair/Custom watercooling.

  12. #12
    Ebuyer Enthusiast
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Rep Power
    25
    Reputation
    289
    Posts
    612

    Default

    Check the manual schematic for usb related jumpers, then check the motherboard to see if you've got all of them on yours. Some users have had this problem because of a missing jumper up near the ps2 ports. If one's missing check the anti-static bag or box.

  13. #13
    Keyboard Warrior

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Rep Power
    345
    Reputation
    16095
    Posts
    5,343

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Martini1991 View Post
    OCZ's are good... But not one of the best :rolleyes:
    Technically, yes, yes they are. Now stop spamming threads with your useless input.

    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

    Phenom II X6 1055T .::. Asus M4A88T-V EVO .::. XFX HD 5830 XXX .::. 8GB Corsair XMS3 .::. 640GB WD F1 .::. OCZ ModXStream Pro 600W .::. Antec P182 .::. Samsung SyncMaster 21.6" .::. Windows 7 Pro .::.
    To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

  14. #14
    CompuFreak
    Guest

    Default

    I had this exact same problem. I ruled out usb items, then realised that I had made my last upgrade to my Asus A8V motherboard 2weeks ago, which was a memory upgrade. I had installed 4 /1gb modules into the banks and for 2weeks all was ok. Now this message appeared. Yikes!.. I removed 2/1gb modules and the pc booted up ok with out the dreaded message. I replaced the 2 removed 1gb moduals with 2/512mb moduals, giving me a total of 3gb installed. To date ...4months down the line, this USB Over Current Status Detected, Computer will shut down in 15 seconds has not reappeared. Hope the info is of some help.

 

 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.8
Copyright © 2015 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Copyright Ebuyer UK LTD 2013
All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 AM.
vBulletin 4.0 skin by CompleteVB